Australia’s Eligible Skilled Occupations List

The following visas are accessible to individuals who are permitted to work or train in an eligible skilled occupation in Australia and can meet all other requirements:

Eligible Skilled Occupations Lists

  • Employer Nomination Scheme (ENS) visa (subclass 186)
  • Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) visa (subclass 187)
  • Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189) – Points-tested stream
  • Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190)
  • Training visa (subclass 407)
  • Temporary Skill Shortage (TSS) visa (subclass 482)
  • Temporary Graduate visa (subclass 485) – Graduate Work
  • Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 489).
  • The occupations accessible are regularly reviewed by the Department of Jobs and Small Business to ensure their reaction to changes in the Australian labor market and regional variations throughout Australia.

The latest update to these lists of eligible skilled occupations occurred on 18 March 2018. Although, this update was outside of the regular review schedule and was executed to coincide with the new introduced Temporary Skill Shortage (TSS) visa (subclass 482) and similar changes to the permanent employer-sponsored skilled visas. Check out for Abolition and replacement of the 457 visa – Government reforms to employer-sponsored skilled migration visas for information on latest reforms to Australia’s skilled visa programs.

A current list of eligible skilled occupations can be located in a legislative instrument for the related visa program. In order to select which visa program may be available to you according to your occupation, we recommend that you first look the Combined current list of eligible skilled occupations.

This single alphabetical list of the eligible skilled occupations also provides information regarding:

  • Whether the occupation is stated on the Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL),
  • The Short-term Skilled Occupation List (STSOL) or the Regional Occupation List (ROL) is for the actual visa program.
  • The Assessing Authorities that you should contact if you are eligible to complete a skills assessment for your visa application. There will be a charge for this service, and the assessing authority will provide every necessary application forms and associated information
  • The Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations (ANZSCO) code for every occupation. The ANZSCO offers information on the skill levels of jobs, qualifications, and experience required to work in occupations (see Australian Bureau of Statistics).
  • Whether any caveats apply to your actual occupation. Caveats (indicate ‘asterisk(s)’) in the list exclude the occupations in particular circumstances from use in the subclass 186 and TSS visa programs only. A summary of Caveats on occupations is accessible.

You may also like 5 type of Visa to enter Australia..