How To Determine And Apply For Right Australian Visa

The amount of people aspiring to immigrate to Australia on a daily basis is on the increase, even with the recent immigration changes declared by the Australian government. Australia, indeed, has always been a top destination for Immigration.

Migrants aspirants are always fascinated by the high wages, high employment rate, quality lifestyle, high living standard, developed infrastructure, social security benefits, democratic values etc which attract a huge number of people applying for the visa to move to Australia every year.

However, as an Australia immigration aspirant, how can you determine as to which Australian visa suits you the best or apply for the right Australian visa?

How to determine which Australian visa suits you the best

Like few other advanced countries i.e USA, Canada etc, Australia follow a well-organized point based immigration system.

Now to know which visa category is the best for you, you have to review three essential things concerning Australian skilled visa process.

(Note: The Australia visa applicants, eligible to choose an occupation from STSOL, also have access to some occupations in MLTSSL. Thus, the two lists (STSOL & MLTSSL) have been merged to form a new Combined List of Eligible Skilled Occupations and so, there is no separate STSOL list.)

In which Occupation List your Occupation is listed

Recently, Australia has replaced its former SOL and CSOL Occupation Lists. Now the government of Australian has introduced two new Occupation lists, that is, Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL) and Combined List of Eligible Skilled Occupations.

If your occupation is listed in MLTSSL, you can file in for

  • Skilled Independent Subclass 189 Visa (permanent) and
  • Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 489)

But, if your occupation is included in the Combined List of Eligible Skilled Occupations, you may apply for any of the following visas, i.e.

  • Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190)
  • Employer Nominated Scheme (subclass 186)
  • Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 489)
  • Training visa (subclass 407) – Nomination eligibility type 2 – Occupational training to improve the skills in an eligible occupation.

Need Temporary visa or permanent visa

You have two options, it’s either you apply for the temporary work visa or permanent residency visa that permit you to live and work in Australia permanently.

For example,

  • The temporary visa allows one to work in Australia for a certain period, i.e. Subclass 489 Visa is valid for 4 years.
  • On the other hand, the Permanent residence visa allows one to live and work in Australia for permanent basis, i.e. Subclass 190 visa and Subclass 189 Visa.

Minimum Points Eligibility Criteria

After determining the right Australian visa to apply, you must also be eligible for that same visa based on your immigration point score.

You have to Submit your profile on online SkillSelect System and score at least 60 points based on your age, educational qualification, English Language skills, work experience, among other factors.

You can access your eligibility on Australia Immigration’s point calculator before lodging your online EOI (Expression of Interest) for a particular visa category.