Where can South Africans travel without a visa
Home » Where Can South Africans Travel Without A Visa?

Where Can South Africans Travel Without A Visa?

The South African passport, known as The Green Mamba, is the world’s 52nd strongest passport. It allows visa-free travel to more than 70 countries in different world regions. In this article, you’ll get an ideal answer to the question, “Where can South Africans travel without a visa?”

SA’s green mamba holders can enter the following countries and stay for up to 90 days without a visa:

  • Bahamas
  • Zimbabwe
  • Vanuatu
  • Pakistan
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Brazil
  • Tanzania
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • El Salvador
  • Argentina
  • Fiji
  • Benin
  • Gabon
  • Georgia
  • Guatemala
  • Barbados
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Cayman Islands
  • Hong Kong
  • Botswana
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • South Korea
  • Ecuador
  • Jamaica
  • Falkland Islands
  • Kosovo
  • Belize
  • Peru
  • Lesotho
  • Mauritius
  • Grenada
  • Kenya
  • Montserrat
  • Namibia
  • Chile
  • Niue
  • Macau
  • Palestine
  • Malawi
  • Tunisia
  • Paraguay
  • Qatar
  • Nicaragua
  • Cook Islands
  • Reunion
  • Russia
  • Singapore
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Costa Rica
  • Philippines
  • Suriname
  • Thailand
  • Panama
  • Gambia
  • Togo
  • Malaysia
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Angola
  • Uruguay
  • Mozambique
  • Zambia
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Eswatini
  • Micronesia
  • Venezuela

To enter any of these countries without a visa, you must hold a passport valid for at least six months from your departure and a travel insurance.

Can South Africans Enter Nigeria Without a Visa?

No, South African citizens cannot travel visa-free to Nigeria but can get a visa on arrival. You’ll have to present your passport, arrival approval letter, and round-trip flight ticket at the port of entry (airport) in Nigeria.

Don’t Miss: How To Apply For A UK Visa From South Africa.

Do South Africans Need a Visa for Dubai?

No, you need a valid passport and a UAE visa to enter Dubai, regardless of your purpose of visit and intended stay. South Africans also qualify for Dubai eVisa, and you can apply online without visiting a diplomatic mission. It requires an accessible email address, a scanned copy of your SA’s passport bio-data page, and a digital photo of you.

You will have a processing fee ranging from ZAR 3,205 to ZAR 17,415, depending on your visit duration and the visa type. It is payable only via a credit/debit card.

Can South Africans Travel to Hong Kong Without a Visa?

Yes, South African passport holders do not need a visa to enter Hong Kong, provided that their purpose of visit is to sightsee. They can stay without a tourist visa for up to 30 days. However, your passport must be valid for at least 30 days after you return to South Africa.

Can South Africans Get a Visa On Arrival?

Yes, South African citizens can obtain an on arrival to several countries without Africa and beyond.

Here’s a list of these countries:

  • Nigeria
  • Burundi
  • Zimbabwe
  • Angola
  • Cape Verde
  • Tanzania
  • Botswana
  • Saint Helena
  • Gabon
  • Tunisia
  • Comoros
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Lesotho
  • Eswatini
  • Madagascar
  • Benin
  • Gambia
  • Ethiopia
  • Rwanda
  • Malawi
  • Sierra Leone
  • Guinea
  • Mauritania
  • Reunion
  • Somalia
  • Togo
  • Mozambique
  • Zambia
  • Ghana
  • Senegal
  • Uganda

Can South Africans Travel to Europe Without a Visa?

No, South African nationals cannot travel to EU Member States without a visa. However, they can travel visa-free to some European countries, including Kosovo, Georgia, and Ireland.

Read Next: How To Extend Your Visit Visa In The UAE.

Share this update:

Similar Posts